Hiking

Gimmelwald is a hiker's paradise! There are many well marked and developed hiking trails for every level. Here we present you with a selection of hikes of various lengths and degrees of difficulty. Your host or hostess will be happy to give you further information on site.

Be prepared! Before you tackle any of the many hiking trails that are in the area, here are a few things you should remember - First of all, you should find out if the particular hike you want to do is actually open and not closed because of snow or other weather conditions. The weather changes very fast in the mountains so you should always carry some sort of rain gear and warm clothing in a daypack. Pack enough water and some snacks or lunch – depending on the length of your hike. You shouldn't drink from streams, smaller brooks, especially in summer when the cows are on higher pastures. All the hiking trails are well marked by signposts, however, there are a few different types. Signs that have only yellow markings are the easy hiking routes; the signs with white-red-white markings are tougher mountain trails which require special care. Hiking trails are also often marked by markers on trees or buildings, or alternatively by colour markings painted on a rock. Always keep your eyes open for these markers and try not to veer from the main path. Please, respect every owner's property and make sure you have closed securely any gates you have opened.

Village walk Gimmelwald

Duration: ca. 30min

Altitude difference: up 50m, down 50m

Category: easy

Note: follow the white signs with the green sticker «Dorfweg»

From the Gimmelwald station, go into the village and follow the road around the village to the former Hotel Mittaghorn. From there you walk down the steps back to the Schilthorn station. Along the way you will find information points at benches with interesting facts about the village, its history and village life.

Circular hike from Gimmelwald to Gimmelwalder Allmi

Duration: ca. 1 hour

Altitude difference: up 200m, down 200m

Category: easy

Note: follow the white signs with the green sticker «Allmiweg»

From the Gimmelwald station, go into the village and turn right at the Gimmelwald Pension. A footpath and stairs will take you to Mittaghorn, where you turn right and follow the road past the top houses of the village. About 50m after a brook crossing, turn left onto a small path that climbs over the meadow and through the forest. After several hairpin bends, cross the small brook over a small bridge and reach the Gimmelwalder Allmi on a forest path. From here you can enjoy a wonderful view down to Gimmelwald as well as the mountain range of Schwarzmönch, Jungfrau, Ebnefluh, Mittaghorn and Grosshorn. To the south opposite is the Busenalp, above it the Tschingelgrat and further back the Gspaltenhorn. Follow the road, which now leads evenly with a slight gradient back to the village. Or take the shorter marked mountain path at the second bench, which leads down through the mountain meadows in zigzag.

Day hike from Gimmelwald up to Busenbrand (extra loop to Tanzboedeli) further to Obersteinberg (extra loop to lake Oberhorn) and down via Wilde Egg, Schuerboden and Trachsellauenen to Stechelberg

Duration: ca. 6-9 hours

Altitude difference: up 720m, down 1120m

Category: difficult, good physical condition required, only for experienced mountain hikers

Note: extra loop Tanzboedeli: +80m altitude difference up and down

From Gimmelwald you hike to Sefinen valley, where you cross the Sefinenlütschine. The mountain path leads steeply up through the forest to Busenalp and on to Busenbrand. Again and again you can enjoy impressive views. At the fork in the path on Busenbrand there is another steep but rewarding ascent to the magnificent Tanzbödeli view point, from where you see the entire Lauterbrunnen valley (there and back approx. 45min). From Busenbrand the narrow path leads through rocks down to the Berghotel Obersteinberg. Sure-footedness is required here. If you would like to add an extra round from the Obersteinberg, you can hike up to the small lake Oberhorn, which is part of the Aletsch-Jungfrau UNESCO World Heritage Site, in one hour. For the descent we recommend the route from Obersteinberg via the Wilde Egg down to Schürboden, which offers wonderful views of the Schmadribach Falls. Just below the Wilde Egg, a signpost "Talbachfall" turns right. In a short additional round of 5min you can reach this special waterfall, which falls through a rock hole into a water basin. From Schürboden the path leads out of the valley to the mountain inn Trachsellauenen and from there down to Stechelberg.

Hike from Gimmelwald to Chilchbalm

Duration: ca. 2 hours 45 minutes

Altitude difference: up 370m, down 370m

Category: intermediate

From the Gimmelwald station you walk down into the wild and romantic Sefinen valley. From there the path climbs steadily up to "Firten". At the fork in the path, follow the watercourse. Towards the end, the path climbs steeper for a short while before a large, flat basin opens up. A very special place of power! You are surrounded on three sides by high cliffs and stand at the foot of the mighty north face of the Gspaltenhorn. Out of the valley you can see the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau from a completely different perspective. The Sefinenlütschine springs from the rearmost part of the valley basin. The Chilchbalm is named after the rock cave on the western edge of the basin, into which a small path leads. Follow the same path back to Gimmelwald.

Hike from Gimmelwald up to Mürren

Duration: ca. 55min

Altitude difference: up 270m, down 0m

Category: easy, suitable for baby carriages

From the Gimmelwald station you walk into the village and either follow the paved road around the village or you take the shorter but steeper footpath, which leads up to the right at the Gimmelwald Pension and into the upper part of the village. From there you follow the evenly rising road up to Mürren. A sunny hike, which always offers unique views to the mountain peaks and down to Stechelberg. If you leave out the shortcuts and always follow the road, this hike is suitable for baby carriages. Often, especially with a baby carriage, this route is also taken in the opposite direction, from Mürren down to Gimmelwald (approx. 40 min).

Hike from Gimmelwald down to Stechelberg and on the valley floor via Truemmelbach to Lauterbrunnen

Duration: ca. 2 hours 20 minutes

Altitude difference: up 0m, down 550m

Category: intermediate

From Gimmelwald station follow the signs to Stechelberg. The path leads over meadows and later through the forest steeply down into the valley. Again and again you cross watercourses and pass small waterfalls. Just before you reach the bottom of the valley, follow the sign to the left towards Lauterbrunnen. At the hydroelectric power station you cross the Sefinenlütschine over an arched bridge and then walk along the white Lütschine out of the valley. At the valley station of the Schilthorn cable car you will pass the highest waterfall in Europe, the Mürrenbach Falls. Right next to it there is also a barbecue area. Continue out of the valley along the course of the river. You will see thunderous waterfalls falling down into the valley over and over again over the high rock faces. If you want to visit the Trümmelbach Falls (link), follow the corresponding sign to the right. The way leads through the camping site Breithorn and from there a few hundred meters along the main road to the Trümmelbach. After visiting the falls, cross the main road and follow the hiking sign out of the valley to Lauterbrunnen. If you leave out the Trümmelbach Falls, just follow the hiking trail further out of the valley. Another sight follows at the entrance of the village of Lauterbrunnen, where you pass at the foot of the impressive Staubbach waterfall. You can climb up to the foot of the waterfall on a secured path and enjoy a wonderful view over Lauterbrunnen in addition to the waterfall itself.

If you leave out the Trümmelbach Falls, just follow the hiking trail further out of the valley. Another sight follows at the entrance of the village of Lauterbrunnen, where you pass at the foot of the impressive Staubbach waterfall. You can climb up to the foot of the waterfall on a secured path and enjoy a wonderful view over Lauterbrunnen in addition to the waterfall itself.

Circular day hike from Gimmelwald via Spielbodenalp up to Bryndli and the Rotstock hut, and from there down into the Sefinen Valley and back to Gimmelwald Gimmelwald

Duration: ca. 5 hour

Altitude difference: up 790m, down 790m

Category: difficult, good physical condition required

From Gimmelwald it goes up to the Sprutz and further to the Spielbodenalp (see description hike Gimmelwald - Sprutz - Spielbodenalp). The Spielbodenalp is located at the foot of the Bryndlis, Gimmelwald's local mountain. Turn left at Spielbodenalp. The path climbs steeply and there are many hairpin bends up to the Bryndli. Once you reach the top, you are rewarded with a magnificent view: far below is Gimmelwald, a little further out of the valley you can see Mürren and opposite is the mighty triumvirate of Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau. The path now leads at the same level below the Bryndli peak into the valley. After a short time you come to a fork in the path. If you climb up to the right here, you will reach the pointed peak of the Bryndlis in about 15 minutes on a narrow path, partly secured with ropes, which offers a magnificent 360° panorama. From now on, the path leads at about the same height over alpine meadows to the Rotstockhütte. With a bit of luck, you might see marmots, the golden eagle or even the bearded vulture, which sometimes circles the Schilthorn. The Rotstockhütte invites you to take a rest. The descent leads along the small stream down to Ozen and Firten and finally to the wild and romantic Sefinental. From here the path climbs a little bit and leads back to Gimmelwald.

Circular hike from Gimmelwald down to the view point “Fluh”, to the old sawmill in the Sefinen valley and back up to Gimmelwald

Duration: ca. 1 hours 20 minutes

Altitude difference: up 190m, down 190m

Category: easy, suitable for baby carriages

Note: follow the white signs with the green sticker «Sagiweg»

At the Pension Gimmelwald turn left and walk down towards Stechelberg. After a short steep descent you reach a road which you follow to the left. You reach the vantage point on the Fluh, which offers a wonderful view into the Lauterbrunnen valley and as far as Wengen. Follow the forest road, which continues to slope gently until you reach the Sefinenlütschine. Follow this road upwards and after a short time you will reach the old sawmill, which is still actively used. It is more than 160 years old and runs on water power. In summer, the tourist office offers guided tours (Link Mürren Tourismus, guided tour of the old sawmill). From the old sawmill, the forest path leads through the forest and along the Sefinenlütschine to the point "Im Tal", where there is also a barbecue area, which invites you to stay. Afterwards you hike up again to Gimmelwald on the evenly ascending forest path. For the pram-compatible variant, follow the road through the village at the beginning of the hike until you reach the bench view point on the left. There you take the road which leads down towards "Im Tal" before you turn left again at the next fork in the road and finally reach the fork below the village where the lookout point is signposted.

Day hike from Gimmelwald via Spielbodenalp and Schiltalp up to lake Grauseeeli and to the Schilthorn

Duration: ca. 5 hour

Altitude difference: up 1610m, down 0m

Category: difficult, good physical condition required, only for experienced mountain hikers

From Gimmelwald it goes up to the Sprutz and further to the Spielbodenalp (see description of the hike Gimmelwald - Sprutz - Spielbodenalp). From there the trail leads on the left side of the Schiltbach stream into the valley. After crossing the stream the path climbs up to the rearmost pastures of Schiltalp. At the fork in the trail, turn right and follow a small path steeply uphill to the little lake Grauseeli. At times the path is secured with ropes. From the Grauseeli it goes up to the Seewlifuhre. From here follows the steep and exposed climb to the Schilthorn. If you don't want to go through all this trouble, you can walk from the Seewlifuhre up to the Birg (45 min) and from there take the cable car to the summit. Please note that on the last part of the trail from the Seewlifuhre to the Schilthorn there is usually snow until the end of June or even the beginning of July.

Hike from Gimmelwald via Sprutz up to Spielbodenalp, further to Schiltalp and via Blumental to Muerren

Duration: ca. 3 hour

Altitude difference: up 590m, down 310m

Category: intermediate

From Gimmelwald it goes up to the Sprutz and further to the Spielbodenalp (see description of the hike Gimmelwald - Sprutz - Spielbodenalp). Behind the restaurant Spielbodenalp you follow the blue marked "Northface Trail" in western direction up to Schiltalp. From Schiltalp you continue on the "Northface Trail" and always facing the Eiger, Moench and Jungfrau, over into the Blumental. Not far from each other are the two mountain restaurants Suppenalp and Sonnenberg, which invite you to take a break. From Suppenalp a small hiking trail leads through the forest and meadows down to Mürren. If you go further up to Sonnenberg (10min from Suppenalp) you can walk down the road to a newer big cowshed. From there the most beautiful way leads down to Mürren via the panorama path which turns left. This offers a great view of the village of Mürren, the triumvirate and the mountain range up to the Breithorn.

Hike from Gimmelwald up to the Sprutz waterfall and to Spielbodenalp

Duration: ca. 1 hour 30 minutes

Altitude difference: up 270m, down 40m

Category: intermediate

From Gimmelwald the path climbs through the village and then over mountain meadows, at times steeply up to the Gimmelwalder Allmi above the village. From there, the mountain path, pleasantly shady, leads through the forest up to the waterfall called Sprutz. The Sprutz is a very special place, because here the hiking trail goes behind the waterfall! The trail continues on a zigzag path on the other side of the gorge up to Spielbodenalp. From there you can either walk down towards Mürren (approx. 30 min) or continue walking up towards Bryndli or Schiltalp (see separate descriptions).

Of course there are many more hiking possibilities. You can find more suggestions for hikes on the Mürren website: https://muerren.swiss/en/summer/see-and-do/hiking/hikes/

Hiking informations of SCHILTHORN CABLEWAY Ltd. https://schilthorn.ch/en/Info/Summer#wandern

Wandern

Gimmelwald ist ein Wanderparadies! Es gibt viele gut markierte und ausgebaute Wanderwege für jedes Niveau. Wir präsentieren Ihnen hier eine Auswahl an Wanderungen verschiedener Länge und Schwierigkeitsgrade. Ihr Gastgeber oder Ihre Gastgeberin gibt Ihnen vor Ort gerne weitere Informationen.

Bereiten Sie sich gut auf längere Wanderungen vor. Nehmen Sie Kartenmaterial mit oder laden Sie sich dieses auf Ihr Mobiltelefon. Gutes Schuhwerk, Getränke und Verpflegung sowie Sonnen- und Regenschutz gehören immer in den Rucksack. Es ist wichtig, dass der Wetterbericht gut studiert wird vor dem Antreten einer Bergwanderung. Das Wetter ändert sich in den Bergen manchmal innert kürzester Zeit und daher ist es auch unterwegs unerlässlich, die Entwicklung des Wetters stets im Auge zu behalten und die geplante Tour je nach dem fortlaufend entsprechend anzupassen.

Dorfrundgang Gimmelwald

Dauer: ca. 30min

Höhenmeter: 50m, Tiefenmeter: 50m

Kategorie: einfach

Hinweis: ausgeschildert mit weissen Schildern «Dorfweg»

Von der Station Gimmelwald gehen Sie ins Dorf und folgen der Strasse rund ums Dorf bis zum ehemaligen Hotel Mittaghorn. Von dort geht’s über Treppen hinunter zurück zur Schilthornbahnstation. Entlang des Weges finden Sie Stationen mit interessanten Informationen über das Dorf, die Geschichte und das Leben im Dorf.

Rundwanderung Gimmelwald – Gimmelwalder Allmi – Gimmelwald

Dauer: ca. 1h

Höhenmeter: 200m, Tiefenmeter: 200m

Kategorie: einfach

Hinweis: ausgeschildert mit weissen Schildern «Allmiweg»

Von der Station Gimmelwald gehen Sie ins Dorf und biegen bei der Pension Gimmelwald rechts ab. Auf einem Fussweg und über Treppen kommen Sie zum Mittaghorn, wo Sie rechts abbiegen und dem Strassenverlauf an den obersten Häusern des Dorfes vorbei folgen. Etwa 50m nach einer Bachüberquerung, biegen Sie links ab auf einen kleinen Pfad, der über die Wiese und durch den Wald ansteigt. Nach mehreren Kehren queren Sie den kleinen Bach über eine kleine Brücke und erreichen auf einem Forstweg die Gimmelwalder Allmi. Von hier geniessen Sie einen herrlichen Blick hinunter auf Gimmelwald sowie auf die Bergkette von Schwarzmönch, Jungfrau, Ebnefluh, Mittaghorn und Grosshorn. Südlich gegenüber liegt die Busenalp, darüber der Tschingelgrat und weiter hinten das Gspaltenhorn. Folgen Sie der Strasse, welche nun gleichmässig mit leichtem Gefälle zurück ins Dorf führt. Oder Sie nehmen beim zweiten Bänkli den kürzeren markierten Bergweg, der im Zickzack durch die Bergwiesen hinunterführt.

Gimmelwald – Sefinental – Busenbrand (– Tanzbödeli) – Obersteinberg – (Oberhornsee) – Wilde Egg – Schürboden – Trachsellauenen – Stechelberg

Dauer: ca. 6-8h

Höhenmeter: 720m, Tiefenmeter: 1120m

Kategorie: schwierig, Trittsicherheit und sehr gute Kondition erforderlich!

Hinweis: Tanzbödeli +80 Höhenmeter rauf + runter, Oberhornsee +290 Höhenmeter rauf + runter

Von Gimmelwald wandern Sie ins Sefinental, wo Sie die Sefinenlütschine überqueren. Der Bergweg führt im Wald steil hoch bis auf die Busenalp und weiter zum Busenbrand. Immer wieder bieten sich imposante Aus- und Tiefblicke! Bei der Weggabelung auf dem Busenbrand gibt es einen nochmals steilen, aber lohnenden Abstecher zum herrlichen Aussichtspunkt Tanzbödeli, von welchem Sie das ganze Lauterbrunnental überblicken (hin und zurück ca. 45min). Von Busenbrand aus führt der schmale Weg durch Felsen hinunter zum Berghotel Obersteinberg. Hier ist Trittsicherheit erforderlich. Wer vom Obersteinberg noch eine Zusatzrunde anhängen möchte, wandert in einer Stunde hoch zum kleinen Oberhornsee, welcher zum UNESCO Welterbe Aletsch-Jungfrau gehört. Für den Abstieg empfiehlt sich die Route von Obersteinberg über die Wilde Egg hinunter in den Schürboden, welche wunderbare Ausblicke auf den Schmadribachfall bietet. Etwas unterhalb der Wilden Egg biegt ein Wegweiser «Talbachfall» nach rechts ab. In einer kurzen Zusatzrunde von 5min erreichen Sie diesen speziellen Wasserfall, der durch ein Felsloch in ein Wasserbecken fällt. Vom Schürboden führt der Weg talauswärts zum Berggasthaus Trachsellauenen und von dort hinunter nach Stechelberg.

Gimmelwald – Chilchbalm – Gimmelwald

Dauer: ca. 2h 45min

Höhenmeter: 370m, Tiefenmeter: 370m

Kategorie: mittel

Von der Station Gimmelwald gehen Sie hinunter ins wildromantische Sefinental. Von dort steigt der Weg stetig an bis auf «Firten». Bei der Weggabelung folgen Sie dem Wasserlauf. Gegen den Schluss steigt der Weg kurz nochmals steiler an bevor sich ein grosser, flacher Talkessel auftut. Ein ganz spezieller Kraftort! Sie sind auf drei Seiten von hohen Felswänden umgeben und stehen am Fuss der gewaltigen Nordwand des Gspaltenhorns. Talauswärts sehen Sie Eiger, Mönch und Jungfrau einmal aus einer ganz anderen Perspektive. Im hintersten Teil des Talkessels entspringt die Sefinenlütschine. Die Chilchbalm hat ihren Namen übrigens von der Felshöhle am westlichen Rand des Kessels, in welche ein kleiner Pfad hochführt. Auf dem gleichen Weg gehts zurück nach Gimmelwald.

Gimmelwald – Mürren

Dauer: ca. 55min

Höhenmeter: 270m, Tiefenmeter: 0m

Kategorie: einfach, kinderwagentauglich

Von der Station Gimmelwald gehen Sie ins Dorf und folgen entweder der Strasse rund ums Dorf, (kinderwagentaugliche Variante) oder Sie nehmen den kürzeren, aber steileren Fussweg, welcher bei der Pension Gimmelwald nach rechts hinauf in den oberen Teil des Dorfes führt. Von dort folgen Sie der gleichmässig ansteigenden Strasse hoch nach Mürren. Sonnige Wanderung, welche immer wieder einmalige Aussichten zu den Berggipfeln und bis hinunter nach Stechelberg bietet. Häufig, gerade auch mit einem Kinderwagen, wird diese Strecke auch in umgekehrter Richtung, von Mürren hinunter nach Gimmelwald, begangen (ca. 40 Min).

Gimmelwald – Stechelberg – Trümmelbachfälle – Lauterbrunnen

Dauer: ca. 2h 20min

Höhenmeter: 0m, Tiefenmeter: 550m

Kategorie: mittel

Von der Station Gimmelwald folgen Sie den Schildern nach Stechelberg. Der Weg führt über Wiesen und später durch den Wald steil hinunter ins Tal, immer wieder queren Sie Wasserläufe und kommen an kleinen Wasserfällen vorbei. Kurz bevor Sie den Talboden erreichen, folgen Sie dem Schild nach links in Richtung Lauterbrunnen. Beim Wasserkraftwerk überqueren Sie über eine Bogenbrücke die Sefinenlütschine und wandern danach der weissen Lütschine entlang talauswärts. Bei der Talstation der Schilthornbahn kommen Sie am höchsten Wasserfall Europas vorbei, dem Mürrenbachfall. Gleich daneben befindet sich auch eine Brätelstelle. Weiter geht’s talauswärts dem Flussverlauf entlang. Dabei sehen Sie immer wieder tosende Wasserfälle, welche über die hohen Felswände ins Tal fallen. Wenn Sie die Trümmelbachfälle (Link) besuchen möchten, folgen Sie dem entsprechenden Schild nach rechts. Der Weg führt durch den Campingplatz Breithorn und von dort ein paar hundert Meter der Hauptstrasse nach bis zum Trümmelbach. Nach dem Besuch der Fälle queren Sie die Hauptstrasse und folgen dem Wanderwegweiser talauswärts nach Lauterbrunnen.

Falls Sie die Trümmelbachfälle auslassen, folgen Sie einfach dem Wanderweg weiter talauswärts. Eine weitere Sehenswürdigkeit folgt am Dorfeingang von Lauterbrunnen, wo Sie am eindrücklichen Staubbachfall vorbeikommen. Über einen gesicherten Weg können Sie bis an den Fuss des Wasserfalls hochsteigen und nebst dem Erlebnis „Wasserfall“ einen herrlichen Ausblick über Lauterbrunnen geniessen.

Gimmelwald – Spielbodenalp – Bryndli – Rotstockhütte – Ozen – Firten – Im Tal Gimmelwald

Dauer: ca. 5h

Höhenmeter: 790m, Tiefenmeter: 790m

Kategorie: schwierig, gute Kondition erforderlich

Von Gimmelwald geht’s hoch zum Sprutz und weiter zur Spielbodenalp (siehe Beschrieb Wanderung Gimmelwald – Sprutz – Spielbodenalp). Die Spielbodenalp befindet sich am Fuss des Bryndlis, dem Hausberg von Gimmelwald. Bei der Spielbodenalp biegen Sie links ab. Der Weg steigt steil und in vielen Kehren hoch aufs Bryndli. Oben angekommen wird man mit einem herrlichen Ausblick belohnt: Weit unten liegt Gimmelwald, etwas talauswärts sieht man Mürren und gegenüber steht das mächtige Dreigestirn Eiger, Mönch und Jungfrau. Der Weg führt nun auf gleicher Höhe unter dem Bryndligipfel taleinwärts. Nach kurzer Zeit kommen Sie an eine Weggabelung. Wer hier nach rechts hochsteigt, erreicht in etwa 15min auf einem schmalen, teils mit Seilen gesicherten Pfad den spitzen Gipfel des Bryndlis, welcher ein herrliches 360° Panorama bietet. Von nun an führt der Weg etwa auf gleicher Höhe über Alpwiesen bis zur Rotstockhütte. Mit etwas Glück beobachten Sie Murmeltiere, den Steinadler oder auch den Bartgeier, welcher manchmal am Schilthorn seine Kreise zieht. Die Rotstockhütte lädt zu einer Rast ein. Der Abstieg führt dem kleinen Bach entlang hinunter nach Ozen und Firten und schliesslich ins wildromantische Sefinental. Von hier steigt der Weg nochmals etwas an und führt zurück nach Gimmelwald.

Rundwanderung Gimmelwald – Aussichtspunkt auf der Fluh – alte Sägerei – Sefinental – Gimmelwald

Dauer: ca. 1h 20min

Höhenmeter: 190m, Tiefenmeter: 190m

Kategorie: einfach, kinderwagentaugliche Variante möglich

Hinweis: ausgeschildert mit weissen Schildern «Sagiweg»

Bei der Pension Gimmelwald gehen Sie links in Richtung Stechelberg hinunter. Nach einem kurzen steilen Abstieg erreichen Sie eine Strasse, welcher Sie nach links folgen. Sie erreichen den Aussichtspunkt auf der Fluh, welcher einen wunderbaren Blick ins Lauterbrunnental und bis nach Wengen bietet. Folgen Sie der Forststrasse, welche weiter leicht abfällt, bis Sie an die Sefinenlütschine gelangen. Dieser folgen Sie aufwärts und erreichen nach kurzer Zeit die alte Sägerei, welche hobbymässig immer noch betrieben wird. Sie ist mehr als 160 Jahre alt und läuft mit Wasserkraft. Im Sommer bietet die Tourismusorganisation geführte Touren an (Link Mürren Tourismus, Führung auf die alte Sägerei). Von der alten Sägerei führt der Forstweg durch den Wald und der Sefinenlütschine entlang weiter bis zum Punkt «Im Tal», wo sich auch eine Brätelstelle befindet, welche zum Verweilen einlädt. Danach wandern Sie auf dem gleichmässig ansteigenden Forstweg wieder hoch nach Gimmelwald. Für die kinderwagentaugliche Variante folgen Sie am Anfang der Wanderung der Strasse durchs Dorf bis zum kleinen Feuerwehrmagazin. Dort nehmen Sie die Strasse, welche hinunter in Richtung «Im Tal» führt, bevor Sie an der nächsten Weggabelung gleich wieder nach links gehen und unterhalb des Dorfes schliesslich auf die Weggabelung treffen, wo der Aussichtspunkt auf der Fluh ausgeschildert ist.

Gimmelwald – Spielbodenalp – Schiltalp – Grauseeli – Schilthorn

Dauer: ca. 5 Std

Höhenmeter: 1610m, Tiefenmeter: 0m

Kategorie: schwierig, Trittsicherheit erforderlich!

Von Gimmelwald geht’s hoch zum Sprutz und weiter zur Spielbodenalp (siehe Beschrieb Wanderung Gimmelwald – Sprutz – Spielbodenalp). Von dort führt der Weg auf der linken Seite des Schiltbachs taleinwärts. Nach der Bachquerung steigt der Weg an bis zu den hintersten Weiden der Schiltalp. Bei der Weggabelung geht es rechts auf einem kleinen Pfad steil bergauf zum Grauseeli. Zeitweise ist der Weg mit Seilen gesichert. Vom Grauseeli geht’s hoch auf die Seewlifuhre. Von hier folgt der steile und ganz oben auch ausgesetzte Anstieg zum Schilthorn. Wer sich diese Strapazen sparen will, wandert von der Seewlifuhre hoch zum Birg (45 min) und nimmt von dort die Luftseilbahn auf den Gipfel. Bitte beachten Sie, dass auf dem letzten Wegabschnitt von der Seewlifuhre bis zum Schilthorn meist bis Ende Juni oder sogar Anfang Juli noch Schnee liegt. Natürlich gibt es noch viele weitere Wandermöglichkeiten.

Gimmelwald – Sprutz – Spielbodenalp – Schiltalp – Blumental – Mürren

Dauer: ca. 3h

Höhenmeter: 590m, Tiefenmeter: 310m

Kategorie: mittel

Von Gimmelwald geht’s hoch zum Sprutz und weiter zur Spielbodenalp (siehe Beschrieb Wanderung Gimmelwald – Sprutz – Spielbodenalp). Hinter dem Restaurant Spielbodenalp folgen Sie in Richtung Westen dem blau markierten «Northface Trail» hoch zur Schiltalp. Von der Schiltalp geht’s weiter auf dem «Northface Trail» und stets im Angesicht von Eiger, Mönch und Jungfrau hinüber ins Blumental. Hier befinden sich unweit voneinander die beiden Bergrestaurants Suppenalp und Sonnenberg, welche zu einer Rast einladen. Von der Suppenalp führt ein kleiner Wanderweg durch den Wald und Wiesen hinunter nach Mürren. Wer noch weiter geht bis zum Sonnenberg (10min von der Suppenalp), kann dort über die Fahrstrasse hinunter bis zu einem neueren grossen Kuhstall gehen. Von dort führt die schönste Wegvariante hinunter nach Mürren über den nach links abbiegenden Panoramaweg. Dieser bietet einen tollen Ausblick auf das Dorf Mürren, das Dreigestirn und die Bergkette bis zum Breithorn.

Gimmelwald – Sprutz – Spielbodenalp

Dauer: ca. 1h 30min

Höhenmeter: 270m, Tiefenmeter: 40m

Kategorie: mittel

Von Gimmelwald steigt der Weg durch das Dorf und danach über Bergwiesen zeitweise steil an bis auf die Gimmelwalder Allmi oberhalb des Dorfes. Von führt der Bergweg angenehm schattig durch den Wald hoch bis zum Wasserfall «Sprutz». Der Sprutz ist ein ganz spezieller Ort, denn hier führt der Wanderweg hinter dem Wasserfall durch! Weiter geht’s auf einem Zickzack-Weg auf der anderen Seite der Schlucht hoch zur Spielbodenalp. Von dort können Sie entweder in Richtung Mürren hinunter spazieren (ca. 30 min) oder weiter hoch wandern Richtung Bryndli oder Schiltalp (siehe separate Beschriebe).

Natürlich gibt es noch viele weitere Wandermöglichkeiten. Weitere Vorschläge für Wanderungen finden Sie auf der Website von Mürren: https://muerren.swiss/de/sommer/sehen-und-erleben/wandern/wanderungen/

Wanderinformationen der Schilthornbahn AG https://schilthorn.ch/de/Info/Sommer