Winter hiking, snowshoe trekking & sledding

In Gimmelwald you can also hike during the winter time. There are a number of prepared winter hiking trails, snowshoe trails and toboggan runs. Depending on the snow conditions, the one can also be well connected with the other. A nice variation is for example the hike from Muerren to Gimmelen, where you are rewarded for the effort of the ascent with a piece of the best apple pie in the mountain restaurant. Afterwards, a speedy toboggan ride back to Muerren is great fun!

The toboggan runs lead from Allmendhubel (accessible by funicular) via Bobrun down to Muerren and from Schiltgrat (accessible by chairlift) via Gimmelen to Muerren. Since the uppermost section on the Schiltgrat is relatively steep, we recommend the Schiltgrat-Gimmelen section only for experienced toboggan riders. In addition, there is also a lot of sledding on the road from Muerren down to Gimmelwald. But be aware that this is not an official toboggan route as, in order to ensure the supply of Gimmelwald, vehicles run on the road from time to time. With the necessary caution, however, this ride is also recommended, especially since it can be taken directly back up by cable car without much effort.

For the prepared winter hiking trails you need good shoes and hiking sticks. You walk on pressed snow through the enchanting winter landscapes. The following routes are prepared (all accessible in both directions):

Hike from Gimmelwald up to Mürren

Muerren Panorama Trail

Muerren-Gimmelen-Schiltalp-Schiltgrat

Hike from Allmendhubel down to Mürren

Muerren-Winteregg-Gruetschalp

For those who want to enjoy nature and recharge their batteries away from the hustle and bustle, a snowshoe tour is recommended. The marked snowshoe tours lead from Muerren over the Chaenelegg or from Gimmelwald or Muerren up to Gimmelen. Your hosts will gladly give you further information.

Another insider tip for hikers and tobogganers seeking peace and quiet is an excursion to Isenfluh, the outermost village in the Lauterbrunnen Valley. Between Sulwald, which is reached by a small cable car, and Isenfluh there is a beautiful toboggan run. There are also several snowshoe trails around Isenfluh. www.isenfluh.ch

Snow sports & ski school

Ice skating and curling

Child care

Wellness

Winterwandern, Schneeschuhtrekking & Schlitteln

In Gimmelwald kann man nicht nur im Sommer wandern. Auch in der Wintersaison gibt es eine Anzahl präparierter Winterwanderwege, Schneeschuhwege und Schlittelpisten. Je nachdem kann das eine mit dem anderen auch gut verbunden werden. Eine schöne Variante ist z.B. die Wanderung von Mürren in die Gimmelen, wo man sich im Bergrestaurant mit einem Stück des weltberühmten Apfelkuchens für die Mühen des Anstiegs belohnt. Danach sorgt eine rasante Schlittenfahrt zurück nach Mürren für ein tolles Erlebnis.

Die Schlittenwege führen vom Allmendhubel (erreichbar mit der Standseilbahn) über den Bobrun hinunter nach Mürren und vom Schiltgrat (erreichbar mit dem Sessellift) via Gimmelen nach Mürren. Da das oberste Stück am Schiltgrat relativ steil ist, empfehlen wir das Teilstück Schiltgrat-Gimmelen nur für Geübte. Zusätzlich wird auch auf der Strasse von Mürren hinunter nach Gimmelwald viel Schlitten gefahren. Um die Versorgung von Gimmelwald sicher zu stellen, verkehren auf der Strasse ab und zu Fahrzeuge, weshalb dieses Stück kein offizieller Schlittenweg ist. Mit der nötigen Vorsicht ist diese Fahrt aber ebenfalls zu empfehlen, vor allem, weil man ohne grossen Aufwand direkt wieder mit der Gondelbahn hochfahren kann.

Für die präparierten Winterwanderwege benötigen Sie gutes Schuhwerk und allenfalls Wanderstöcke. Sie laufen auf gepresstem Schnee durch die verzauberten Winterlandschaften. Folgende Routen sind präpariert (alle in beide Richtungen begehbar):

Gimmelwald – Mürren

Mürren Panoramaweg

Mürren-Gimmelen-Schiltalp-Schiltgrat

Allmendhubel-Mürren

Mürren-Winteregg-Grütschalp

Für die, welche die Natur total abseits des Rummels geniessen und die Batterien aufladen möchten, empfiehlt sich eine Schneeschuhtour. Eine markierte Tour führt von Mürren über die Chänelegg. Ihre Gastgeber geben Ihnen gerne weitere Informationen.

Ein weiterer Geheimtipp für ruhesuchende Wanderer und Schlittler ist ein Ausflug nach Isenfluh, dem äussersten Dorf im Lauterbrunnental. Von Sulwald, welches mit einer kleinen Luftseilbahn erreicht wird, nach Isenfluh, führt eine schöne Schlittelstrecke. Zudem gibt es rund um Isenfluh mehrere Schneeschuhpfade. www.isenfluh.ch